Defining moments…

My life in China has been defined by the things I have seen and experiences I have had.

In 2004, while standing on a rooftop overlooking a small town in western Yunnan province on the edge of the Tibetan plateau, I saw a turquoise and magenta sunset speckled with purple clouds slowly fall behind ancient mountains. In 2005 as I hiked through Guizhuo province, I meet a women who had never heard of a country called America, “is it near Beijing?” she asked me. When I hiked up Emei Mountain later that year, I left my wallet in a monetary after eating lunch with an old monk, I didn’t realize it till I arrived at the summit… when I started to walk down again the old monk met me on the path… he had followed me up the mountain to return my wallet to me! In the summer of 2006 I met my wife in SiChuan Province, we traveled down the Yangzi river together and went through the biggest lock system damn in Asian. In 2008 I watch the Olympic torch relay as it ran by my house in Zunyi city. In 2009 my wife and I had a traditional Chinese wedding… I came to her house and we carried her to the wedding location in a ricshaw! This year the two of us spent our birthdays traveling. It was the first time she had left the country… we went to Thailand.

These are simply a few moments from each year…To really explain all of the moments that compile my life in China… I’d have to write a novel… something I have been thinking about for some time now!

2 responses to “Defining moments…

  1. Nathan, those are defining moments… and you have lead a truly blessed life. Savor every one of them, and thank you for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

