Life’s Detailed Lines

I have been working on a series of detailed pen and ink draws. Because of the nature of being overly detailed, these drawing have been works in progress for months. I will at times get fed up with the monotony of it and yet sometimes I sit for hours on end and work on them. I have several that I work on at the same time, so that I can put one aside and work on another just to help keep myself sane. There are those moments that I believe I am falling in to the “crazed artist” category and yet at other times I feel like these drawings feed off my daily life and are a way of pushing my stress in to a tiny dot or line on a piece of paper. I hope it is the latter and that my “crazed innuendos” are all locked away in the draws, never to be let out. The last thing I want is to end up curling my mustache with turpentine (S. Dali) or cut of my ear (V. Van Gough) or some other more sinister echo of past artists.


Above are two details from two different works in progress. I don’t expect either of these to be done any time soon, but once they are I will try to post them. The one on the left is the Monkey King (Xuan Wu Kong) a mythical character that every Chinese person knows. On the right is a muscular sketch that got out of hand… I have no other explination for that one!


One response to “Life’s Detailed Lines

  1. Nathan you are so talented it is almost unbelievable. Keep up the good work brother, dont get discouraged!

Leave a Reply

