Visits from the in-laws

In the US it isn’t very common to have your mother-in-law live with you… or at least not for most people. My mother-in-law doesn’t really live with us… but she comes to visit for extended amounts of time.

When we lived in Guizhou, she came and lived with us for about a month. Now that we are in Nanjing (and closer to them) mom comes to stay with us every-other month, usually for a week at a time.

Despite what you hear about in-laws, I have no problems when she visits (and even less if my father-in-law is here too). Maybe it’s because of the simplicity of our conversations (3 cheers for my bad Chinese) or more likely, it’s because my wife has built me up to them and so I have made a pretty good impression… even if I didn’t earn it myself.

Either way, I really like having them visit, it resets my body clock (because they get up at dawn) and our meal times change to fit their daily schedule but it’s refreshing to have family in the house and to change your approach to each day. So up we get with the dawn and a busy day it will be!!!

Leave a Reply

